Motorcycle riding can be a thrilling way to explore the beauty Texas has to offer. However, before going for a ride, it’s essential to know the state’s laws to protect your rights and uphold the duty of care you owe to those around you. If you suffered injuries in a motorcycle accident through no fault of your own, our experienced Mott & Moffett lawyers can help you understand how these laws may impact your claim.
With years of experience providing unmatched services to Texas motorcycle accident victims, we have a thorough understanding of state law and know what it takes to handle every aspect of your claim. We communicate with you every step of the way so you have the knowledge you need to make informed decisions for your future. Our personalized care and individual attention allow you to focus on recovery and rest assured you are in the right hands.
6 Important Texas Motorcycle Laws You Should Know to Protect Your Rights
Because motorcyclists are subject to several laws in Texas, it’s essential to be aware of them to avoid penalties after an accident. Our knowledgeable lawyers can help you understand these rules, which include the following:
In Texas, some motorcycle riders have to wear a helmet, including all passengers under 21 years of age. If you are over 21, you do not have to wear a helmet if you completed a state-approved motorcycle safety course and have an insurance plan that would cover healthcare costs if you got into an accident. Those over 21 who do not meet these requirements must wear a helmet. While Texas does allow certain groups to ride without a helmet, wearing one is still highly encouraged.
To avoid heavy traffic, many motorcyclists will lane split or ride in between lanes to move ahead of other drivers, but this is illegal in Texas. Therefore, if a motorcyclist is lane-splitting and is injured in an accident, they may be found partially responsible for the crash.
Class M License
All motorcyclists in Texas must have a special license called a Class M license, which requires riders to take a safety course approved by the Texas Department of Public Safety and present proof of completion. This requirement may be waived for out-of-state riders.
All Texas motorcyclists must carry liability insurance that will cover at least $30,000 per injured person in an accident, $60,000 for multiple parties injured, and $25,000 for property damage. Not only is not having this insurance against the law, but it also makes motorcycle accident claims much more complicated.
If you have a motorcycle in Texas, your young children, friends, and other family members may want to take a ride. However, it’s important to remember that state law prohibits passengers under five from riding on motorcycles, but they can ride in sidecars.
While many motorcycle riders have high handlebars for aesthetics and comfort, Texas law limits handlebars to 15 inches above the seat. If the handlebars go any higher, law enforcement may issue a traffic citation.
Contact a Trusted Texas Motorcycle Accident Lawyer at Mott & Moffett Today
Every driver on Texas roads is subject to state laws, including motorcyclists. These laws keep everyone safe, and following them is an essential part of your duty of care. However, if a motorcyclist fails to follow these laws and causes you harm, you have the right to file a claim and seek help from our lawyers at Mott & Moffett. We can explain these laws clearly and concisely to keep you informed.
In addition to understanding Texas motorcycle laws, we fight tirelessly to hold the liable party accountable and achieve the maximum compensation you deserve. With our years of experience, proven track record, and top-tier services, you can trust us to build a strong claim and fight for you. To learn more about Texas motorcycle laws, call us at (888) 596-6582 or fill out our contact form.